Brewers and Milwaukee BBWAA Announce 2011 Brewers Team Awards

Today, the Milwaukee Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America and the Brewers announced the annual Brewers Team Awards for the 2011 season.  The awards were voted on by the Milwaukee Chapter of the BBWAA.  Eight ballots were returned with three names in each category, with points awarded on a 3-2-1 basis.  The first-place votes are listed in parentheses.  I’m giving the readers a chance to vote along to see how your votes stack up to the experts.

Most Valuable Player

Receiving all eight possible first-place votes, Ryan Braun was named Brewers team MVP for the first time in his career.  Braun led the National League in Slugging Percentage (.596) and extra-base hits (77) and missed the NL batting title by just .005 points, finishing the season with a .332 average.  He was one of just three players in the NL with at least 100 runs and 100 RBI this season (Matt Kemp and Joey Votto were the other two) and became the first Brewer in team history to put up those numbers.  Braun’s had one of the best seasons in franchise history and his numbers are worthy of a NL MVP award (to be be announced on November 22).


  1. Ryan Braun (8)  24 points
  2. Prince Fielder 15
  3. John Axford  6
  4. Yovani Gallardo 1
  5. Corey Hart 1
  6. Nyjer Morgan 1

Most Valuable Pitcher

In his first full season as a Major League closer, John Axford was named the Brewers Most Valuable Pitcher as he finished the season 2-2 with a 1.95 ERA and 46 saves in 48 opportunities.  Axford broke the Brewers single-season franchise saves record held by Francisco Cordero (44 in 2007).  He finished the season converting 43 consecutive save opportunities and pitched 11 consecutive scoreless innings to close the regular season.


  1. John Axford (7)   23 points
  2. Yovani Gallardo (1)  15
  3. Zack Greinke   8
  4. Francisco Rodriguez 1
  5. Shaun Marcum 1

Unsung Hero

Every team has an Unsung Hero and every team needs an Unsung Hero.  Jonathan Lucroy bounced back from a Spring Training injury to have an outstanding season as the Brewers starting catcher.  He finished the year hitting .265 with 12 HR and 59 RBI.  Some of the stats that don’t show up are the runs that he saved blocking pitches behind the plate.


  1. Jonathan Lucroy (4)   15
  2. Mark Kotsay (1)   9
  3. Jerry Hairston Jr. (1)  6
  4. Marco Estrada (1)   4
  5. Francisco Rodriguez  4
  6. Randy Wolf (1)   3
  7. Takashi Saito  3
  8. Rickie Weeks  2
  9. George Kottaras  1
  10. LaTroy Hawkins 1

Top Newcomer

Acquired at the end of Spring Training via trade, Nyjer Morgan won the hearts of Brewers fans with his efforts on the field and his personality off the field.  Morgan hit .304 with 4 HR and 37 RBI for the Brewers this season, coming up with a number of clutch hits (who will ever forget his walkoff hit in NLDS Game 5?) and some fantastic defensive plays.  His alter-egos, “Tony Plush,” “Tony Clutch,” “Tony Tombstone,” “Tony Hush” helped make him a fan favorite.  Morgan hustled on every play, gave it his all on the field and had the best season of his career.


  1. Nyjer Morgan (7)   22
  2. Zack Greinke (1)   15
  3. Shaun Marcum   5
  4. Jerry Hairston Jr.  4
  5. Francisco Rodriguez   2

Good Guy Award

Being around the team everyday during the season, it would be hard for me to pick a single “Good Guy” because I really believed this team was full of them.  Pitcher LaTroy Hawkins edged out Casey McGehee to pick up the award this year.  A leader in the clubhouse with veteran experience, Hawkins was there to face the media during the highs and the lows of the 2011 season.

Hawkins also picked up the 2011 Michael J. Harrison Award for Community Service.  He contributed $50,000 this season to Brewers Community Foundation in support of activities and programs targeted to youth recreation, scholarships and education throughout Wisconsin.  Hawkins also supported Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett’s Fatherhood Initiative and provided financial support for the Brewers Team Smile dental clinic at Miller Park.  Hawkins is truly a leader in the community and in the Brewers clubhouse.


  1. LaTroy Hawkins (4)   13
  2. Casey McGehee (1)  10
  3. John Axford   9
  4. Jerry Hairston Jr. (1)  7
  5. Craig Counsell (2)  6
  6. Corey Hart   1
  7. Prince Fielder 1
  8. Randy Wolf   1

Congratulations to the Brewers Award winners from this memorable Brewers season.  I look forward to seeing how our readers vote for these awards!

As I said earlier, the National League MVP Award will be announced on Tuesday, November 22, so Brewers fans should keep that date circled on their calendar.  With Braun and Fielder in contention for that award, it will be interesting to see the results.  Another award that Braun is in contention for, the Gold Glove, will be announced tomorrow.  Braun committed only one error in left field this season.



Great season this year guys!! To bad we didn’t go further:( but we will get them next year!! Good job boys:)

Overall the Brewers had a FANTASTIC season!!! Great job Milwaukee Brewers!!

Casey McGhee’s 3 home runs in that game with the Cardinals took them further and should be more recognized? Who knows what would have happened without that win.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: